Architect: George Avery Fletcher 1873
Bendigo | 14
The Bendigo Chapel was built in 1873, designed by George Avery Fletcher who at the time was town clerk, surveyor and cemetery secretary. Unique in its Gothic Revival style, the chapel is built from Harcourt granite. The building is designed in a distinctive cross shape, with the main entrance facing the east, and side exit doors facing the north and south.
Other unique features include its bell flèche adorned with a golden finial, taking pride of place atop the chapel. Historically the building was used as a space to conduct funeral services, with coffins placed on trestles such as those on display today. Sunlight filtering through the stained-glass windows provides light to the space within the chapel which has no electric lighting.
A Living Heritage grant of $200,000 was awarded in 2017 for the chapel, that allowed for restoration of the roof, bell flèche, interior floor and stormwater drainage system to begin. Works were completed in May 2018. The conservation works allow the multi-denominational chapel to once again be available for a range of events including weddings, music recitals, receptions, as well as to be used for its original function to again host funeral services.
Principle architect, David Wixted and historian, Michele Summerton will be onsite Sunday 27, 12pm-4pm for informal discussions on the history and recent restoration.
Take a self-guided notable graves tour and learn about the lives of 26 Bendigo pioneers that shaped the city.
70 Carpenter Street, Bendigo 3550, Bendigo VIC